Match Grade .40 S&W Ammunition?

What do you think is the very best match grade ammo for .40 S&W?

horizlinebrn

January 26, 2014.  0511HRS:

Recently, I have been using Winchester FN FMJ, 165gr ammunition in my Glock 27 for target shooting practice.  It does well, but I have to wonder if there is some true, match grade ammo out there in .40 S&W that I just haven’t seen yet?  

Any suggestions?  What would YOU use for competition ammo?  NO RELOAD information please.  I do not reload, and do not intend to reload for competition stuff.  Maybe I should?  What do YOU think?

Would like input from people who actually use a .40 Pistol…

If you look at my shooting log page, you will see the sort of results I am currently getting.  Granted, some of that has to do with me, some of it with the small frame of my G27 (muzzle jump) that has not yet been modified.  And it isn’t my eyes.  I see quite well with my glasses on, and use the “Over the Eyeglasses,” clear safety glasses when I shoot.  

I’ve been firing between 104-200 rounds a week for practice, and shooting at different distances, as well as shooting one handed (strong and weak side), and of course two handed.

I have a HUGE wish-list at the GlockStore of accurizing parts, and hopefully the modifications I intend to do will be of help.  I think they will.  I’m going to put a Lone Wolf threaded barrel and compensator on, as well as a 3.5lb trigger connector, a titanium striker, and a titanium plunger.  Also going to do the heavy, competition type magwells to give the gun a little more weight and potentially a more firm and steady grip.  Also going to put the heaviest recoil spring they make on the thing!

Regardless of those factors, I want to be sure my ammo is the best I can purchase for competition purposes. I need to be shooting 2-4 inch groups at 50 yards, and right now I’m shooting closer to 5 inch groups at 40 feet…..so “I” need some work, and I want to ensure the pistol is tuned up as well as I can get it .  I really believe the longer, threaded/compensated barrel will make a huge difference, as well as a decreased trigger pull weight and some other mods.  

Guess what I’m trying to say is that I do NOT want my pistol OR my ammo to be limiting factors in my accuracy.  The ONLY factor I want to have to deal with is ME.  I mean, I want the pistol to have the capability to shoot better than I am able to shoot.  Don’t want equipment or ammo issues holding ME back!

Any and all input on this matter is very welcome!

Thanks and have a blessed Day!

~S~

horizlinebrn

badgejointhenra

Donate to the NRA-ILA

Donate!

 

Leave a Reply

