Decision on Reloading Press Made!

Didn’t Take Long to Make a Decision…

I’ve decided on the reloading press I want!  Yay!  The decision I made is based on advice from a relative who does a lot, and I mean a LOT, of reloading for various calibers of pistol and rifle.

Tada!  Here we go with the Dillon Precision’s RL550B Progressive Reloading Press.

Of course there are a “few” accessories I will be wanting to buy, but that is pretty irrelevant.

WHY DID I DECIDE ON THIS?

One simple word:  VOLUME!   I estimate that I will be reloading a minimum of 400 rounds per month, and a potential maximum of at least twice that many.

What will I be reloading?

First and foremost, I will want to work up a load in 9mm for a custom Glock 35 straight from the Glock Custom Shop next Spring.  Secondly, there is the .40 S&W rounds I will be loading in “typical” and +P. Third, there is my sweet .308 Win rifle.  That is actually my absolute favorite gun to shoot, but I do not intend to do rifle competition, whereas with the 9mm pistol, I do.

Therefore I will need 3 die sets to begin.  They are not that expensive, and should last forever, as should this press.

Where?

TBD – Need to determine how to make space in the garage for a bench to do this, and for safe storage of components.  Naturally I would prefer to set up in the family room right in front of the TV, but we all know how impractical that is, at least for a married man lol.

Okay.  This is the latest in my reloading decision process.  I realize that it is probably of little interest to many, many people, but I wanted to talk about it anyway, so there we go! 

Regards,

~S~

Leave a Reply

