A Poor Parts Combo for the Glock 27

Okies a, I’ve been changing parts and stuff on my G27 again.  This time I put in a 3.5lb connector (trigger connector for those who may not understand what I’m saying).  

Thing is, the last part change was from the stock to a 21lb recoil spring, wherein I was warned about jams with that sort of spring with “regular” (meaning not +P) ammo, which didn’t happen initially.

So, last night I installed a “Ghost Rocket Connector, 3.5lbs” for my trigger pull weight to be 3.5lbs.  

Took it to the range today to check it out.  

I noticed two things.

The first prominent issue was that I couldn’t fire at a rate higher than about a round per second without a jam.

The second thing I noticed (or didn’t notice), was that there was no felt change in the trigger pull, crispness, or reset.

Now, I blame the jams on two things.  

One, the heavy recoil spring with factory ammo, as I was warned about by the glockstore.com

Two, I had put a reasonable (but not too heavy) amount of Brownell’s Action Lube on my slide rails and ALL moving parts of my pistol.  So, whereas last time I fired, the slide was not cycling as quickly, hence no jams, even with the heavier spring, but this time, with the heavier spring still installed, and the ability to squeeze the trigger more quickly due to the connector change, I believe that the slide was just cycling back too fast to grab & feed the cartridges.

My solution is this:

At the range, I will continue to use the lighter trigger connector, but will use the factory recoil spring.

When carrying my +P ammo, I will use the heavier recoil spring.  HOWEVER, I DO need to get some more Zombie Max rounds and test them rapid fire with the heavy spring and with the factory spring to compare.  I’m pretty certain that the +P ammo will function fine in the pistol the way it is….but next time I shoot factory ammo at the range, I WILL put in the factory recoil spring (unless I decide on a less heavy one that is still  heavier than “factory”).

This is why we test fire after changing parts!  We MUST be certain our firearm is working at tip-top shape if we are to rely on it to protect our lives or the lives of those we love!!!

Peace Ya All

~S~

Leave a Reply

